IN CASE OF FIRE, BREAK THE GLASS

Hey BBNHers! I’d like to start by apologizing again for being MIA and thank you all for reading. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get any pictures of the bands for this show. I didn’t have my good camera with me, S wasn’t there with hers, and all I had was a Nikon Coolpix. I normally love the Coolpix, small and convenient and because it’s a Nikon, it takes excellent pictures! But because it’s a simple point and shoot, I had virtually no control over how the pictures came out so they were all blurry. I did manage to get a picture of some bathroom graffiti with my Blackberry, though. I’ll post that for all the 30 Seconds to Mars fans at the end of this post.

With all that out of the way, I have to say, this was an amazing show! I only wish S could have been there to share such an epic experience. The last time I got a chance to see Taproot was in 2005, so I was pretty pumped to be seeing them again 6 years later. I also hadn’t been to State Theater since I saw Framing Hanley, The Veer Union and Transmit Now last June.

For those of you not familiar with St Pete, Florida, you should know that State Theatre is one of the greatest venues of all time. It’s small and intimate, the security guys are always pretty cool and the bathroom graffiti is entertaining. It’s always easy to meet the bands (most of whom are dying to meet their fans and sign CDs anyway) and despite being such a small venue, the acoustics are great. Did I mention it’s indoors? Indoors means there’s air conditioning, which is essential in Florida. You still sweat, but instead of sweating because of the blistering sun and humidity of a subtropical area, you’re sweating because you’re moshing, dancing, jumping around or had one too many to drink. State is, to steal Zacky Vengeance’s expression, ” so punk, it’s metal. “

The first band up was a local band from Ft Myers called We’re All Virus. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but for some reason We’re All Virus pleasantly surprised me, especially the vocalist. These guys may be the opening act but don’t let that fool you, they brought some intense sounds with them. And despite the fact that there wasn’t much of a crowd, they still did an awesome job of staying energetic and exciting the few people that were there. I feel bad for anyone who showed up to the show late, they missed out on some great talent! Don’t believe me? Check out their tunes for yourself here and then catch one of their shows.

The next band almost made me forget I was at a rock show. Almost. They’re called Devil Made Microphones and they were hilarious! Don’t let their first goofy impression fool you, though, they also knew how to play some damn good music! When they weren’t cracking jokes, Devil Made Microphones were busy jamming on their guitars and delivering some nice vocals. These guys were some of my favorites from the night simply because you could tell they were having fun and doing what they love. Passion is everything in the music world. They may not have had the hardest riffs or screaming vocals on their side, but they managed to translate their passion for fun into the crowd. If you ever need to go to a show to just chill out and smile while listening to some sweet tunes, I highly suggest Devil Made Microphones

I’m pretty excited to be writing about this next band. Even though I had never heard them before, Seven Years Past left a lasting impression on me. This band had it all! And did I mention their singer is a woman who can more than hold her own with the guys? Lisa kicks some serious ass. Go to their website here and listen to their music immediately. Go ahead, I can wait…..See? Aren’t they amazing? Now picture hearing that music in an awesome little venue with an energetic crowd and even more energetic band feeding off of each other. You see why I’m geeking out, don’t you? Seven Years Past means business and I sincerely hope they hit it big time with their music careers! Personally, I plan on seeing them at State again when they open for Alien Ant Farm and I suggest you all do the same when they get to your city!

Soulidium: A band that never disappoints. They always make me feel like I should be in a club surrounded by vampires (Anne Rice type vampires, not those sparkling douchebag fairies whatsherface made up). I had seen them once before during Guavaween 2009. It’s no wonder 98 Rock chose to have them on stage during a Halloween event, they take their stage presence very seriously and they’re pretty much unmatched in the Tampa Bay area. Soulidium isn’t a band that asks their crowd for moshing and vivacity, they demand it. It’s easy to get addicted to their shows. Even Lajon Witherspoon of Sevendust loves them! Aside from putting on a high energy, larger than life, pure metal rock show that Ozzy Osbourne would be proud of, their music kicks ass. They aren’t a bunch of asshole metalheads who play their instruments loudly and try to pass it off as music, they know how to write some sick riffs and sexy melodies! If you like bands like Disturbed and Avenged Sevenfold, you’ll love Soulidium!

Do yourselves a favor and buy this next band’s new album The Other Side of Nothing. Absolution was the first band of the night that wasn’t a Floridian band and I sure hope they come back to Florida soon! Their set was so amazing, it made me want to buy their album immediately. I wish I had more to say about Absolution but all I can think of is to tell you guys to just go listen to them for yourselves. They’re that band you listen to and love just because their songs are amazing, simple, pure rock. Kind of like Chevelle, Tool or Taproot. No fancy stage gimmicks needed, just some mind-blowing songs and a high energy show.

Taproot was the headliner of the night. If you’ve never been to a Taproot show, you need to keep them on your radar and go to one ASAP! They are without a doubt one of the most talented, underrated bands I’ve ever listened to and always deliver an epic show. I still remember Stephen Richards jumping off the balcony area at Jannus Landing (now Jannus Live) back in 2005. Unfortunately, there aren’t many surfaces he could jump off of at State but every ounce of energy they brought with them 6 years ago, they had this time around too! Their set induced moshing from beginning to end and I couldn’t be prouder to call myself a fan. I wish all my favorite bands played at State Theatre, the small intimate atmosphere definitely added to the experience. In between songs, Taproot would talk to us, joke around, and makes us feel like we were part of the show instead of just watching it.
Overall, this was one of my favorite shows I’ve been to. Smaller shows just tend to be better and none of the bands disappointed me, it’s been a while since I was at a show where I loved every band. If you have any questions or were at the show and want to talk about it, leave us a comment; we love hearing from you guys!

Look familiar, Echelon? ;) This was on the bathroom stall door at State and unfortunately the only picture I could manage to get that night.

2 Responses to “IN CASE OF FIRE, BREAK THE GLASS”

  1. hey there, thanks for the great write up…..you hit the nail on the head, what a great venue and bands that are working hard to make their mark….reading things like this fuels fires and keeps the music playin :) 7yp

  2. Thank you so much for the kind words we had a ton of fun at this show and can’t wait to rock faces on july 31st31st with 7 Years Past and Alien Ant Farm!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

